020-344194; 0725-624489
P.O. Box 30075-00100, Nairobi

About Nairobi County

County Map

General Information

The Nairobi City County is the creation of the Constitution of Kenya 2010 and successor of the defunct City Council of Nairobi. It operates under the auspices of the Cities and Urban Areas Act, The Devolved Governments Act and a host of other Acts. The Nairobi City County is charged with the responsibility of providing a variety of services to residents within its area of jurisdiction. These include the services that were hitherto provided by the defunct City Council and the ones that have been transferred from the national government.

The former include Physical Planning, Public Health, Social Services and Housing, Primary Education Infrastructure, Inspectorate Services, Public Works, Environment Management while the latter include Agriculture, Livestock Development and Fisheries, Trade, Industrialization, Corporate Development, Tourism and Wildlife, Public Service Management.

The Nairobi City County, in execution of responsibilities and functions bestowed upon it by the above Acts has been divided into three arms as follows:
  • The Executive led by The Governor
  • The Legislative Arm or the County Assembly headed by The Speaker
  • County Public Service Board


Westlands; Parklands; Dagoretti; Karen/Langata; Kibira; Roysambu; Kasarani; Ruaraka; Kariobangi; Kayole; Embakasi; Mihango Nairobi West; Makadara; Kamukunji; Starehe; Mathare