0721894485, 0721241577, 0725904436
P. O Box 545-20500 Narok Kenya.

About Narok County

County Map

General Information

Narok County is situated in Kenya along the Great Rift Valley. It is named after, Enkare Narok, the river flowing through Narok town. It covers an area of 17,944 sq km and has a population of 850,920. The temperature range is 12 to 28 0C and the average rainfall range of 500 to 1,800 mm per annum. The Maasai Mara National Park , an important tourist destination, is located in Narok County. It is home to the Great Wildebeest Migration which is one of the `Seven New Wonders of the World`.

It constitutes 6 sub-counties namely:

  1. Kilgoris
  2. Narok North
  3. Narok South
  4. Narok East
  5. Narok West
  6. Emurua Dikirr

Narok town is the capital Head Quarters of the Narok County and stands as the major centre of commerce in the county.

As per the UN study/research for the Kenya Vision 2030, Narok County is marked as one of the fundamental counties for the achieving economic pillar. Key contributions are in the tourism sector through the Maasai Mara and the agricultural sector through livestock farming.


Kilgoris; Emurua Dikirr; Narok North; Narok East; Narok West; Narok South